15 July 2015

The following experts are available to comment to media on issues relating to the Queensland Budget and subsequent developments (expertise areas listed).

Journalists can also search for experts on a wide range of topics at UQ Experts.

Mobile numbers for many of the experts below are available on request. Contact UQ Communications on 3356 3439 for more information.

General economy/ budget

Professor John Quiggin (School of Economics) – economics, Australian economic policy, public asset sales, drought and economics, water and economics/politics, environment/climate change and economics, economic growth, tax, employment policy, political economy and "zombie economics": j.quiggin@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 9646

Professor Flavio Menezes (School of Economics) – economics: f.menezes@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 7061

Dr Chris Salisbury (School of Biological Sciences) – Queensland, Australian, US and European history; state and federal politics; government policy making; and political leadership, particularly policies supporting scientific and medical research, innovation and technology, and schooling/higher education systems: c.salisbury@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 3330

 

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Partnerships

Professor Paul Memmott (School of Architecture) – Indigenous Australia, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander studies: p.memmott@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 3660

 

Communities, Child Safety and Disability Services

Professor Matt Sanders (School of Psychology/Director, Triple P-Positive Parenting Program) – parenting and family support: m.sanders@uq.edu.au

 

Education and Training

Professor Robyn Gillies (School of Education) – education, school discipline: r.gillies@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 6541

 

Energy and Water Supply

Professor John Foster (School of Economics) – carbon pricing, economics and renewable energy, employment economics, interest/exchange rates, inflation and economics, innovation and economic growth, monetary policy, entrepreneurship: j.foster@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 6780

 

Environment and Heritage Protection:

Professor Ove Hoegh-Guldberg (Global Change Institute) – climate change, global warming, Great Barrier Reef:  oveh@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3443 3112

Emeritus Professor Geoffrey Lawrence (School of Social Science) – natural resource management, regional Australia: g.lawrence@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 3160, +61 7 3367 1769

 

Health

Professor Nicholas Fisk (Faculty of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences) – medicine: mbs.execassistant@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 5300

Professor Jennifer Whitty (School of Pharmacy) – pharmacy: j.whitty@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 1978

 

Innovation:

Dr Tim Kastelle (UQ Business School) – social/complex network analysis, innovation management/  systems/ strategy:  t.kastelle@business.uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 8158

Professor Mark Dodgson (UQ Business School/Technology and Innovation Management Centre) – innovation process and impact on firms, governments and research organisations:  m.dodgson@business.uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 8166

 

Justice and Attorney-General

Professor Ross Grantham (School of Law) -- commercial law, corporate law, corporate governance, private law, unjust enrichment, property: r.grantham@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 9776

 

Natural Resources and Mines

Professor David Cliff (Sustainable Minerals Institute) – mine safety, mining: d.cliff@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 4086

 

Police, Fire and Emergency Services

Associate Professor Jonathan Corcoran (School of Geography, Planning and Environmental management) – emergency services (fire), urban modelling: jj.corcoran@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 6517

 

Tourism, Major Events, Small Business and the Commonwealth Games 

Professor Sara Dolnicar (UQ Business School) – tourism: s.dolnicar@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 6702

 

Transport and Main Roads

Dr Derlie Mateo-Babiano (School of Geography, Planning and Environmental Management) - transport planning, policy development, urban planning and design: i.mateobabiano@uq.edu.au, +61 7 336 53916

 

Contact: UQ’s central communications team on communications@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 1120.

More than 1000 UQ academics and researchers are listed on the UQ Experts search engine.