Federal election experts available for comment
Federal election experts available for comment
30 June 2016

A range of University of Queensland experts is available to comment on issues leading up to the 2 July Federal Government election.
Journalists can search by topic or name at UQ Experts or contact the following experts. 

Professor Graeme Orr (School of Law)
Law relating to politics, elections, finance, labour and employment, and how elections are regulated and run.
g.orr@law.uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 3014, 0434 525 398, @Graeme_Orr

Professor Kath Gelber (School of Political Science and International Studies)
Australian politics, hate speech, human rights and freedom of speech.
k.gelber@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 2910

Dr Frank Mols (School of Political Science and International Studies)
Political psychology, governance and public policy, populism.
f.mols@uq.edu.au+61 7 3365 9024, (mobile number available to journalists on request.)

Dr Ryan Walter (School of Political Science and International Studies r.walter1@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 8210, 0449 915 833

Dr John Harrison (School of Communication and Arts)
Media ethics, spin, media ownership, media performance, advertising ethics, journalism, Twitter and Facebook.
j.harrison@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 824 @thedoctorsaid

Dr Daniel Angus (School of Communication and Arts)
Communication, social media and data analytics. Advanced computational techniques to analyse public debates, social media commentary, media and candidate profile data. 
d.angus@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 8255, @antmandan

Dr Chris Salisbury (School of Historical and Philosophical Inquiry)
Australian state and federal politics, economic history, political leadership and public policy, Queensland’s social and political history, budget and election issues.
c.salisbury@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 2698

Professor Andreas Schloenhardt (School of Law)
Asylum policy, people smuggling.
a.schloenhardt@law.uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 6191

Professor Ove Hoegh-Guldberg (Director, Global Change Institute)
Climate change, environment, the Great Barrier Reef, ecology and zoology.
oveh@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3443 3112

Professor Karen Hussey (Global Change Institute)
Climate change and environment policy.
k.hussey@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3443 3154, 0420 537 169

Professor Xue Li (School of Information Technology and Electrical Engineering)
Big data. Professor Li called the 2013 federal election and the last Queensland election to above 95% accuracy with an online search engine he designed.
xueli@itee.uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 2379, x.li@uq.edu.au

Dr Martine Maron (School of Geography, Planning and Environmental Management)
Conservation and biodiversity, ecology, environmental science and management.
m.maron@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 3836, 0417 110 537

Dr Chris McGrath (School of Geography, Planning and Environmental Management)
Environmental law/regulation, climate policy, and the Great Barrier Reef.
chris.mcgrath@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 7405, 0438 299 097

Dr Justine Bell-James (School of Law)
Environment law/policy, planning law and property and insurance law.
j.bell-james@law.uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 6588, 0423 339 054

Dr Jonathan Rhodes (School of Geography, Planning and Environmental Management)
Conservation and environmental decision making, ecological impacts of climate change and wildlife and habitat management.
j.rhodes@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 6838, 0466 650 709

Dr Kerrie Wilson (School of Biological Sciences)
Environmental sciences, ecology, conservation and biodiversity.
k.wilson2@uq.edu.au, + 61 7 3365 2829, 0432 844 079

Professor John Mangan (Business School)
Industrial relations, taxation, economic policy, climate change economics, water and economics, economic growth.
jmangan@bel.uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 8171, 0412 433 051

Professor John Quiggin (School of Economics)
Industrial relations and taxation, economics, economic policy, public asset sales, drought and economics, water and economics/politics, environment/climate change and economics, economic growth, tax, employment policy, political economy, "zombie economics", penalty rates.
j.quiggin@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 9646, 0400 747 165

Professor Flavio Menezes (School of Economics)
Taxation, public economics, regulatory economics, auction and market design and competition economics, taxation of multinationals.
f.menezes@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 7061, 0417 494 426

Associate Professor John Asafu-Adjaye (School of Economics)
Natural resource economics, international environmental economics, economic development, modelling and policy.
j.asafuadjaye@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 6539, 0435 395 372